Last week, I posted that California's Alex Mack winning the Draddy Trophy.  This week, he's won another award.  This time, though, he's not alone in his award winning.  Both Mack and Oregon's Nick Reed are the winners of the 2008 Morris Trophy.  And we at WFG want to congratulate both these fine men for this accolade. 

The Morris Trophy is named for its sponsor, the Morris Family of Woodway, Washington.  The award, though, is actually decided upon by the Pac-10 players.  The offensive lineman award a Morris to the league's best defensive lineman and vice versa.  It may be all fight for sixty minutes on the gridiron.  But these performances have been remembered and rewarded when it's all over.

Mack, as you may remember, started 37 consecutive games as center for the Golden Bears for the past three seasons.  He's also been named first team All-Pac-10 by the coaches of the conference.

Nick Reed, a senior defensive lineman, led the Pac-10 in quarterback sacks (13) and tackles for losses (19.5).  He is also a Pac-10 All-Academic team member with a 3.44 GPA in History.  This captain will certainly be missed by the Ducks come next year.

Mack and the Golden Bears will next appear in the Emerald Bowl on the 27th.  Meanwhile, Reed and the Ducks will play in the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl on the 30th.  May the Pac-10 be victorious!

Posted by admin